Monday, 18 January 2010

Volkswagen Touareg wins the Dakar Rally

Picture: Getty images

Carlos Sainz has won the 2010 Dakar Rally, driving a heavily modified Volkswagen Touareg. The victory was made all the more by a full winners podium made up of the Touareg teams.

Sainz finished just 2 minutes 12 seconds ahead of 2nd placed Nasser Al-Attiyah after 14 stages of the Dakar rally.

Volkswagen also showcased the new Amarok pickup truck as support vehicles.

The Dakar rally is an endurance test over 17 days and 5500 miles. The event is split into different catergories for cars, trucks, motorbikes and quad bikes.

The route is a loop, beginning and ending in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The course also takes in a large part of Chile, including the brutal Atacama desert.

Friday, 15 January 2010

The 2010 Car of the Year is...

The 2010 Car of the Year has been revealed.

The winner is...

The new Volkswagen Polo is Car of the Year 2010

The award comes from a collection of car magazines around the world, including the UK based Autocar. The new Polo beat off stiff competition from the likes of the Ford Fiesta.

Learn more about the New Volkswagen Polo

Wednesday, 6 January 2010

Snow Day at Pulman

Pulman is still open for business, regardless of the snow! Check out our wintery photos below from our Durham site and drop in for a nice hot drink if you're passing by.